UniServices Board Members

Professor Stuart McCutcheon
Chairman, Vice-Chancellor, the University of Auckland

Vice Chancellor since 1 January 2005. He has served in an advisory capacity to Government agencies and producer boards. He has been a Director or Board Member of: the New Zealand Dairy Research Institute; the Wellington Regional Economic Development Trust; the Wellington College of Education; the Malaghan Institute of Medical Research; Universitas 21 and U21 Global; the University of Auckland Foundation; and the UK and US Friends of The University of Auckland. In 2004-5 he held the position of Chair of the NZ Vice-Chancellors’ Committee.

Professor Jim Metson
Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research)

Professor Jim Metson  is the newly appointed Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research). For the past two years he has been Chief Science Adviser for the Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment.  With experience in academic research, working with industry and also with government his experience includes; Deputy Dean of the University of Auckland’s Faculty of Science, Associate Director of Light Metals Research Centre (LMRC), a Councillor for the Australian Institute of Nuclear Science and Engineering, the Chair of the Australian Synchrotron Science Advisory Committee, the former Head of the School of Chemical Sciences, chair of the Research Infrastructure Advisory Group (RIAG) for MBIEs predecessor MoRST and a Principal Investigator of the MacDiarmid Institute.

Professor John Fraser
Dean of Medical and Health Sciences, the University of Auckland

Dean of Medical and Health Sciences at the University of Auckland and deputy director of the University’s Maurice Wilkins Centre for Molecular Biodiscovery . Professor Fraser’s groundbreaking research in molecular aspects of the immune response resulted in the now widely accepted model of how superantigens work. Professor Fraser has earned an enviable reputation as a world class scientist, researcher and teacher, and is a Fellow of the Royal Society of New Zealand.

Dr John Villiger
Chairman of Proacta and board member of Pharmaxis.

PhD Pharmacology Otago. John Villiger has spent the 25 years in the pharmaceutical industry working predominantly in drug development. Between 1987-1996 he was employed by Hoffman La Roche in New Zealand and Switzerland in a global drug development. John was the co-founder of the Medicines Company in the USA and between 1996-2006 played a major role in it becoming a Nasdaq listed specialist pharmaceutical company. He is currently Chairman of Proacta and on the board of Pharmaxis.

Tony McNaught
Ex National Managing Partner, Corporate Finance, KPMG New Zealand

BCom (Otago).Tony McNaught is a member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants.  He has over 25 years' experience in local and international mergers and acquisitions and led the national corporate finance division for KPMG until 2014. He delivers advice to medium to large, privately-owned companies on matters such as acquisitions, divestments, management buyouts, capital raisings, valuations, executive share schemes as well as a broad range of other commercial issues.  He has worked with high growth companies including EROAD, Navman, Fisher & Paykel Healthcare and Virgin.

Adrienne Cleland
Adrienne Cleland, Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Operations) and Registrar, the University of Auckland

Adrienne Cleland is Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Operations) and Registrar, responsible for Finance, IT, Property, Communications & Marketing, Academic & Shared Services, Organisational Performance, Planning & Information, Campus Life, Legal and Risk functions.